MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Two Months With the iPad

with 2 comments

So I’ve had the iPad for almost two months now and I can opine on it.

Um, I love it.

My expectations were in line I think with the device itself – I expected it to be an information delivery medium and it has delivered in spades. E-mail, news readers, reference, and personal information management have all been improved over my previous solutions. Futher, the smaller size of the iPad has meant it is very nearly always with me. I do not even feel the need to discuss the actual box. It’s an Apple product and its design, build quality, and tactile feel are all top notch.

In short, the iPad, far from being a toy, has increased my productivity, mostly by streamlining my daily information consumption and gathering. It also can serve as a content creation device, though that is clearly a secondary function. I recently took a trip and left my laptop behind. I didn’t miss it.

I do have a quibble. The big issue is Apple’s decision to stop selling screen protectors through the Apple Store. Big mistake. I get that they are trying to inculcate the idea with consumers that the iPad screen is durable. Of course it’s durable – it’s also glass! I first purchased a screen protector from Zagg (don’t) which I found fell short of the quality I would expect of a product designed for an Apple device. It was more than another month that I discovered that Power Support, the makers of great iPhone screen protection had an iPad screen. I ordered it. It has now arrived, it is on, but in so installing, I discovered that my iPad had somehow gotten a scratch on the screen. This does not happen to me – I am very careful about such things. Yet, somehow, a half inch scratch appeared on my iPad screen. If Apple had sold the PS screen protectors in the Apple Store, then this would not have happened as I would have bought one on the spot. Apple needs to get over whatever product angst it has and let consumers buy appropriate protection at the point of sale.

Apple’s screen hubris aside, the iPad is a fantastic product, far outpacing the putative competition.

Written by martinipundit

July 15, 2011 at 12:55 am

Posted in Apple, General, Technology

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. But how would the iPad have voted on the Casey Anthony case? They almost have minds of their own…

    David Turnbull

    July 16, 2011 at 1:38 am

  2. The same way I would have voted – not guilty.

    From the peanut gallery she sure looks guilty, but from the rule of law, she is as innocent as the driven snow. The prosecution didn’t prove so much as a parking violation.

    martinipundit

    July 18, 2011 at 12:01 am


Leave a Reply

