MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Shame on You Scotland, Shame!

with one comment

Scotland should be ashamed of itself. I am personally embarrassed about my own Scottish heritage – through which I trace my lineage to some fairly illustrious historical figures. But today I am ashamed of my Scottish blood for the first time in my life.

Scottish citizens might not be able to purchase English translations of Israeli masterpieces such as “A tale of love and darkness” by Amos Oz and “Someone to run with” by David Grossman, due to a boycott on Israeli books.

Two and a half years ago, shortly after Operation Cast Lead, the West Dunbartonshire Regional Council, located west of Glasgow, approved a bill that called to boycott goods produced in Israel.

According to the law, the council and all public bodies under its jurisdiction are forbidden to sell goods that originated from Israel.

Despicable. The full article is here. But for the first time, Scotland displays an anti-semitism of the sort which is more properly confined to Nazi Germany.

Shame on you Scotland. And until my Scottish cousins cease to support murdering terrorists because they are against the Jews, I will not buy another bottle of Scotch. I urge all of my readers to do the same.

Scotland wants to boycott Israeli goods? Then let the Scots feel the pain themselves. I will buy no more Scottish goods and I call for a boycott until they cease their despicable anti-semitism.

Update: While I’m at it, I’ll supplement my purchase of non-Scottish brown liquors with a search of some of these Israeli books that have Scotland so spooked. I hear some of them are pretty good novels.

Written by martinipundit

May 28, 2011 at 11:48 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Only one positive spin to put on this. It is not Scotland as a whole. It is on city council. It is like Boston having a boycott of Arizona, essentially it means nothing. It is also only official venues for local government. What I would hope to see is local businesses not just defying the boycott but being actively against it. It also seems like the Canadian government banning the Dire Straits song “Money for Nothing” because it has the word “favor” in it three times. They did this 25 years after the song was released.

    David

    June 15, 2011 at 3:31 am


Leave a Reply

