MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

iPhoneymoon

with 9 comments

About a year and a half ago, I noted that I had acquired an iPhone. Though it was a second generation device, and very nearly two years after the first iPhone, I was still among a small number of my friends and relations who had one. So, when I spent the first weeks nearly glued to the thing (a phenomenon that did not go unnoticed by others at the time), I paid little attention to it.

Since then, I’ve seen quite a few others gain an iPhone and go through the same experience. One guy’s girlfriend even broke up with him referring to herself as an “iPhone widow.” People who acquired iPhones seemed to change, subtly, as if they had undergone a life-changing experience (most of the latter in my circle are PC people). The iPhoneymoon seems an inescapable part of it.

So it is with some amusement (and chagrin), that I observe the iPhoneymoon again here at Villa MartiniPundit. We acquired not one but two for Christmas, and both of the other denizens of the Villa are blissfully on their iPhoneymoon.

What would the world be like without Apple? Poorer, to be sure.

Written by martinipundit

January 12, 2011 at 1:11 am

Posted in Apple, General, Technology

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have spent much time busting your, and others in the iPhone circles, chops. I have heard that Verizon may be carrying them soon also and have already let those others on my family plan that I intend to look into getting one for myself (complete the iMac, iPod, iPad set as it were).

    David

    January 12, 2011 at 5:21 pm

  2. Of course, you went through a version of this with the iPad – iPaddymoon?

    The iPhone 4 is a very nice box indeed, assuming the Verizon version is the same, you will like it very much.

    martinipundit

    January 12, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  3. What do you mean “went”. Please use the current tense here. I have to charge the thing every night because it only goes 10 hours. I hope the phone will be less but I kind of doubt it…

    David

    January 12, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  4. While I charge mine daily (new and old), it takes exceptional usage to bring it below half a charge. I suspect the iPad’s larger screen draws more power.

    martinipundit

    January 12, 2011 at 9:27 pm

  5. I will say, the iPad has only shut off once due to 0 power. I have been below 5% a few times. If they only offered it with phone capability…

    David

    January 12, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  6. Apple’s website is proclaiming the iPhone 4 will be available from Verizon on February 10th.

    martinipundit

    January 12, 2011 at 11:23 pm

  7. I will have to check what is needed for this. I would look a little silly holding an iPad up to my ear…

    David

    January 12, 2011 at 11:55 pm

  8. I have now entered into this “blissful” (?) period. I do like the product though not being able to press 1 for English (or any others) is a bit annoying.

    David

    April 25, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  9. When on a call and you need to enter a number, take the phone away from your ear, tap the ‘keypad’ icon and then you can tap whatever numbers you need. You can also put it on speaker beforehand if you think you’ll need to tap in a lot of numbers.

    martinipundit

    April 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

