MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Obama Is Wicked Smaht – Naht

with 6 comments

This is a theme that has irked me for some time: Democrats are smart and Republicans are stupid.

Go back a few decades and what you will hear from the leftward side of the political spectrum is how stupid the Bushes and Reagan were. Flip side – Clinton smart. This also includes losers: Gore and Kerry were smart. We all know Quayle, Palin, and any other Republican you care to name were dumb. Right?

(I have personally found this a problem when my liberal friends praise my intelligence but refuse to acknowledge there might be a connection with my politics. I don’t get it – according to them if I support Republican ideas I must be stupid. Which is it?)

In this vein, I have endured the meme that Barack Obama is one of the brightest bulbs to ever occupy the White House. Really? How can that be? He doesn’t know anything about economics, about history, about geography, about foreign policy, about running a business, about managing a lemonade stand. We have not been graced with his grades or any sort of academic publication under his name. Talk about a man of straw.

So it was with great pleasure that I read the American Thinker article “Just How Smart Is Obama?”

Nice to know that I’m not the only one who hears how smart the Annointed One is and goes, huh?

Written by martinipundit

August 18, 2010 at 11:57 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never heard a smart person question Obama’s intelligence — even smart right-wingers.

    Ben Hoffman

    August 19, 2010 at 12:16 am

  2. I’d love to see Obama in a debate with Newt Gingrich.

    Fox

    August 19, 2010 at 12:37 am

  3. Well, isn’t that the point? There are no smart right wingers? 😉

    I don’t know what circles you travel in, Ben, but why is questioning Obama’s intelligence something a ‘smart’ person wouldn’t do? To me, it’s fairly clear he isn’t stupid, but it’s equally clear he’s no genius. To hear consistently how smart he is leads me to wonder why there’s no evidence of it. Clinton, for all his mendacity, is clearly a pretty bright guy. He was a Rhodes Scholar which does actually require some gray matter, he does NYT crosswords which as one travels through the week get pretty challenging, and has always been nimble without a teleprompter. Obama, on the other hand, engages in no intellectual activities that anyone can see, is woefully ignorant on a vast range of subjects, and is artless at best politically when he speaks extemporaneously. Combine that with no academic trail at all, and I think it’s pretty fair game to ask how smart he is. YMMV.

    martinipundit

    August 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

  4. [To hear consistently how smart he is leads me to wonder why there’s no evidence of it.]

    Where is it you “hear consistently how smart he is? That’s just a straw-man you set up just so you could knock it down.

    Ben Hoffman

    August 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

  5. In addition, he showed his intelligence pretty well during the health care summit with the Republicans. He made them look like fools.

    Ben Hoffman

    August 19, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  6. As I live in Boston and most of my friends are liberals, I hear it a lot live. But I am also amazed how often his putative intellect is praised on Fox News and in articles I read. These days, I don’t post enough to this blog to waste my time with straw man arguments, not that I ever did to my knowledge. I was commenting on the American Thinker article which spoke to something I’ve actually experienced since the Reagan Administration.

    As to the HCS, I respectfully disagree that was a sign of intelligence. The Republicans were fools – for agreeing to the format in the first place. Obama proved that a president can run roughshod over the opposition in such fora. However, I’ve never disputed that Obama plays serious hard-ball politics.

    martinipundit

    August 20, 2010 at 10:37 am


Leave a Reply

