MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

A Question

with 2 comments

I’ve been giving some thought lately to my friends of the more liberal persuasion. By this I mean the ones who for roughly eight years railed against President Bush but who also voted for President Obama.

It has occurred to me that in the rare occasions where I was willing to debate my liberal friends in Massachusetts I was playing with fire. For it is true, whenever I have done so, I have invariably been treated with invective, with extreme defensiveness, and with anger. Indeed, sometimes, my interlocutor has stormed away in anger.

It is for this reason, that I rarely debate politics with my liberal friends.

Yet it has occurred to me – why is it so? I have never responded with such childish vituperation when someone challenges my political beliefs. Why do liberals do so? Can they not defend their beliefs to themselves? Why indeed …

Written by martinipundit

November 18, 2009 at 2:22 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it has to do with your questions threaten the “feeling good” mentality of many. If you question their beliefs, it seems to me, that they might discover the feelings really have no basis in fact, which makes them feel bad.

    David

    November 18, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  2. I think that may be true – it certainly seems threatening to their self-conception.

    I do find it interesting, now that Sarah Palin is back in the news, how defensible Obama’s original candidacy was. I am after all, on the record as saying Palin blew it with her resignation, however, if she was unqualified to be Vice President (and I think she was now), I have to ask, how was Obama qualified to be president then, or now?

    What stuns me there, is that those who were saying that Palin was not qualified before the 2008 election, were also saying that Obama was qualified to be president. By what possible criteria could these two positions be squared? None that I know of.

    martinipundit

    November 19, 2009 at 1:25 am


Leave a Reply

