MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Perfect Cribbage Hand

with 3 comments

Some onetime readers might find this surprising, but I’m a fairly serious cribbage player. I first learned the game in the early 90s, and I play on average about a dozen games a week. I once got a 28 point hand, which those of you who play know consists of four 5s and a court card. But today, quite unexpectedly on the first hand of the second game, I was dealt the jack of clubs, and the fives of spades, hearts, and diamonds. I tossed the other two cards in my opponent’s crib without a thought (and can’t for the life of me recall what they were), and waited for a lame cut like a two or three.

My surprise was complete when the five of clubs was cut. That equals 28 points but adds one for having a jack of the same suit as the cut card. 29 points! The odds of this hand are said to be 216,580 to 1.

Here’s my perfect hand:

Written by martinipundit

October 14, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Posted in General

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well congratulations!!!

    I’m still waiting for my “29” but have had a couple 28s before. And I got a 32 when playing cribbage with jokers at eCribbage.com. It was a 28 with 4-card flush. I had two jokers.

    Anyway, this definitely qualifies you for the Cribbaholics Unanimous Hall of Fame at http://www.cribblog.blogspot.com.
    Cheers,
    Joe

    Joe

    October 26, 2008 at 11:14 pm

  2. Thanks!

    The fellow who dealt the hand had a ’29’ of his own, but that was about thirty years ago.

    Looks like a once in a lifetime event – it’s all downhill from here!

    Cheers,

    Matt

    martinipundit

    October 29, 2008 at 1:45 am

  3. The odds of getting a 29 hand are remote, but I have come close a few times.

    cribbage boards

    October 7, 2009 at 12:21 pm


Leave a Reply

