MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Sometimes, It Simply Makes No Sense

leave a comment »

One of my aunts called me a couple of days ago, and at first she made small talk. But when she asked me if I read the NYT, I had to laugh and tell her no, I liked my news with truth in it. It was then she told me one of my cousins had died.

I was more than a little taken aback. Though he and I shared a given name, I really hadn’t known him that well (not uncommon I suspect with more distant cousins). Yet we had met a few times, and I remembered him being born. 

He died, along with his wife, stepson, and several pets, in a fire that raged quickly out of control.

The consensus seemed to be that the cause was electrical. It mattered little – he and his wife were trapped. So was the child – all of nine. He was found by the firefighters under his bed along with the pet dog. My cousin was taken from the inferno – still alive, but he succumbed not long after. He was 24. Witnesses reported that the firefighters knelt, crossed themselves, and prayed.

I have not felt right since hearing this news. This person I hardly knew, yet who had a blood connection to me, had died most horribly and far too young. Sometimes, it simply makes no sense.

Written by martinipundit

September 6, 2007 at 10:58 am

Posted in General

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

