MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Liberal Angst

leave a comment »

There’s been some angst in the comments lately from some of the more liberal readers, and a lot of concern that what goes on here is primarily “bashing” Democrats. Well, this is primarily a political blog, written from a conservative point of view, and a profound belief that in this time of war we simply cannot trust Democrats with power due to their dovish stance. You may disagree, and that’s all good – you may comment here or start your own blog. Contrary to one view – that it’s my way of the highway – if that were so there would be no comment section on this blog.

Meanwhile, I’ve lived in this bluest of blue states for a very long time, and this blog is one of the very few places I can actually speak my mind without social or professional concern. It’s pseudonymous for a reason. My liberal friends and colleagues here simply do not have the frame of reference – being censored or even shunned by friends and colleagues – to even begin to understand what that’s like. Liberals in Boston are free to give voice to their views; conservatives are not. When I use the phrase ‘free speech for me but not for thee’ it’s from the liberal’s point of view, and it’s born from long experience in this place. I know liberals don’t like to hear that they can be intolerant and crush dissent, but I’ve got almost two decades of field research to back up my view. Those of you who know me and do discuss politics with me should know those discussions come from an extremely high level of trust and respect – and the belief that it goes both ways. So this blog will continue to track Democrats, liberals, and others and will continue to point out their hypocrisy, their hatred, and yes, their dangerous policies.

Meanwhile, The Peeve Farm discusses hate:

Despite Kos’ insistence that the Religious Right thrives on hatred and lives to damn those with which it disagrees, I have to say that after some four years now of dwelling primarily on the right-hand side of the aisle, I haven’t even seen anything that comes close to the truly frightening level of murderous rage that emanates from what claims to be the country’s rightful moral guide. I can’t even remember the last time I saw someone on the pro-war/pro-Bush side even say or type the words “I hate…”

For the record, I wrote it once, in reference to something Kerry said, not the man himself.

Written by martinipundit

July 6, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Leave a Reply

