MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

Archive for May 2nd, 2005

Blogger Meme: If I Could Be …

leave a comment »

Or, chain letter it seems, although I doubt there will be much in the way of filthy lucre at the end. In any event, the infamous Soxblog tapped me on the shoulder, and it’s a Monday so here goes. The idea here is to select five items from this list:

If I could be a scientist…

If I could be a farmer…

If I could be a musician…

If I could be a doctor…

If I could be a painter…

If I could be a gardener…

If I could be a missionary…

If I could be a chef…

If I could be an architect…

If I could be a linguist…

If I could be a psychologist…

If I could be a librarian…

If I could be an athlete…

If I could be a lawyer…

If I could be an innkeeper…

If I could be a professor…

If I could be a writer…

If I could be a backup dancer…

If I could be a llama-rider…

If I could be a bonnie pirate…

If I could be a midget stripper…

If I could be a proctologist…

And answer away.

And so I shall:

If I could be a painter I would expend perfect spring afternoons creating imaginary worlds in pigment that everyone would want to visit, and most would want to stay …

If I could be a missionary I would travel to deepest, darkest, Neverbeenthere and convert the peaceful natives I found to the worship of the great god Juniperous. We would worship every day at the altar of the never-ending Happy Hour and I – the High Priest of the Shaker – would dispense sparkling wit and urbanity in a glass. Oh, and all the women would wear those lovely little black cocktail dresses …

If I could be a professor I would realize I’d gone back in time and somehow made the mistake I previously avoided. Thus, I would immediately adopt a false ethnic ancestry, plagiarize other works, and denounce all those who questioned me. After the generous 8-figure settlement, I’d buy a yacht and sail the wide Sargasso Sea …

If I could be a writer I’d make damn sure that novel sitting in my desk drawer actually got published …

If I could be a llama-rider I would have discovered the secret to happiness, for it would certainly be a lot easier to explain than what I actually do for a living …

Now, who to tag?

Sisu, because I’m curious, Lawren, because it came early, and Ilyka Damen, just because.

Written by martinipundit

May 2, 2005 at 8:47 am

Posted in Blogging, General

