MartiniPundit

Random thoughts and insights – always shaken, never stirred

The Score So Far

leave a comment »

First Presidential Debate: draw Perception is that Kerry won the debate. This is due primarily to media spin and a pretty dubious Newsweek poll over the weekend. Kerry did indeed win on debating style, but Bush won on substance. To me, that’s a draw, and thus a strategic victory for Bush.

Veep Debate: Clear win for Cheney. It will be interesting to see how this is spun, but the fact is that Edwards had his head handed to him. It would be embarrassing if Edwards weren’t so junior in comparison. To me, that suggests he actually did OK against such a formidable opponent, but the pre-debate polling suggested that most people expected Edwards to win the debate. That did not happen so we’ll need to see if that results in a greater backlash than expected.

Update Jeff Jarvis, for reasons passing understanding, thinks Edwards won the debate. I have to wonder which debate he was actually watching.

Update II Apparently Andrew Sullivan thought Cheney was roadkill. I won’t link – you can find him if you want. But it does go to show how far one once mighty blogger has fallen. Frankly, it makes me want to avert my eyes – like a revered elder who now can’t help but soil himself and doesn’t notice.

Update III Stephen Green thinks that Cheney won, but not by anything like the margin I do. Could be, I respect Stephen’s judgment, although I’m inclined to stick with my own first impressions. Like I said, it will be interesting to see how this plays out. The MSM (whom I call MMD) will try to downplay Cheney as much as possible, and this I already saw from Joe Lockhart, Susan Estrich, and Alan Colmes this evening. The perception of the voters will matter, and that will play out over the next few days. This time, there is not a weekend to intervene and skew the polls.

Written by martinipundit

October 5, 2004 at 11:18 pm

Posted in 2004 Election, Politics

Leave a Reply

